Late to the party : macedonian performance on video since 1991- links & resources

I’m really looking forward to showing a Swiss audience at Museum Tinguely a showreel of Macedonian performance art on video, as part of PANCH‘s extraordinary three month long festival of performance art, BANG BANG.

Nora Stojanovikj, Gathering Scales of the Big Fish (In the Fish Tank), 1997, video still

For those unable to come or for those who came and are injterested to find out more, please see below a link of resources on contemporary art from North Macedonia, artists, instiutions and some writings. It’s not an exhaustive list but I shall be adding to it as time goes on! Hope you find it useful.

ZAUM Arhiv: https://arhiva.zaum.mk/

Iskra Dimitrova: https://iskradimitrova.wordpress.com/about/

OPA (Obsessive Possessive Aggression): http://www.o-p-a.org/

Verica Kovacevska: https://www.kovacevska.net/

Igor Toshevski: https://toshevski.weebly.com/works.html

Gjorgje Jovanovik: https://www.gjorgjejovanovik.com/

Maja Kirovska: http://www.majakirovska.com/about/temperature.html

Darko Aleksovski: https://www.darkoaleksovski.com/

Marko Gutić Mižimakov: https://performing.site/

Elena Chemerska: https://elenachemerska.com/

Ivana Mirchevska: https://ivanamirchevska.tumblr.com/porfolio

Natasha Nedelkova: https://natashanedelkova.com/

Ana Lazarevska: https://www.riseofwomen.net/artist-ana-lazarevska

_________________________________________________________________

Other Interesting Artists:

Yane Calovski: https://yanecalovski.com/

Hristina Ivanoska: http://hristinaivanoska.com/

Ana Jovanovska https://www.saatchiart.com/anajovanovska

Irena Paskali: https://www.paskali-i.de/

Nada Prlja: https://nadaprlja.com

Goran Ristovski: https://www.behance.net/goranristovski

Zoran Shekerov: https://zoranshekerov.hotglue.me/

Ivana Sidžimovska http://ivanasidzimovska.com/

Nikola Uzunovski: https://www.lampoonmagazine.com/article/2022/05/15/nikola-uzunovski-multiple-suns-artificial-clouds/

Dragana Zarevska: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLklx093KGSAwc5o9mBw7EQ

Macedonian Institutions:

Museum of Contemporary Art, Skopje: https://msu.mk/home/

National Gallery of Macedonia: https://nationalgallery.mk/

Museum of the City of Skopje: https://museu.ms/museum/details/208/city-museum-of-skopje

AKTO Festival, Bitola / Skopje : https://akto-fru.org

(Directors: Filip Jovanovski: https://iscp-nyc.org/resident/filip-jovanovski

                   Ivana Vaseva: https://creart2-eu.org/curators/ivana-vaseva/ )

Jadro Association Gallery, Skopje: https://www.facebook.com/centarjadro/

Lokomotiva, Skopje: https://www.lokomotiva.org.mk/

Press to Exit, Skopje: https://www.presstoexit.org.mk

Private Print, Contemporary Art Publisher : https://linkin.bio/_privateprint_

Skopje 2014 Uncovered: http://skopje2014.prizma.birn.eu.com/en

Past Writings & Shows:

Overcoming Art (2021: Jadro Association, Skopje & ISU, Zagreb: with Bojan Ivanov, Ivana Samandova & Angela Vitanovska). The video show can be seen at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Zagreb’s website.

In Between States : Exchange Exhibition between Scotland & Macedonia (2019, Peacock Visual Arts, Aberdeen & Museum of the City of Skopje)

Captured State : New Art from Macedonia (2017: Summerhall, Edinburgh)

Critical Art in Contemporary Macedonia (2016: mala galerija, Skopje)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s